2016 Reading Stats

It’s time for the Perpetual Page Turner‘s end of year survey! I really enjoyed this one last year, so couldn’t wait to do it again. I’ll try to get through without repeating any books again, though that might be a tough one this year.

 

Number Of Books You Read: 102
Number of Re-Reads: None
Genre You Read The Most From: Cozy mysteries

1. Best Book You Read In 2016? This is always such a hard one. I didn’t love most of what I read this year, though that might have been my frame of mind and not the books’ faults. However, I’ll have to go with Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t? I had several of these. Amy Tan’s The Bonesetter’s Daughter. Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. More that I won’t name.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read? I was pleasantly surprised by Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)? I’m pretty sure I fell short on this one. I didn’t push much this year! Maybe Stolen Lives – I think that was my book club selection. Maybe?

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?  I started a lot of new series, so this is a toughie. Let’s go with Gail Carriger’s Soulless. Best sequel was probably Laura Morrigan’s Take the Monkey and Run, and best series ender (and the only one I read) was Renee Ahdieh’s The Rose and the Dagger.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016? David Sedaris for Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? Since I stepped way out of my comfort zone in October with horror reads, I’ve got to give this one to Shirley Jackson for We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year? The String Diaries (Stephen Lloyd Jones)

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year? I don’t re-read, so none of them.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016? The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

11. Most memorable character of 2016? Cora from Colson Whitehead’s The Underground Railroad

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016? Emma Cline’s The Girls

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016? Thought-provoking goes to The Stranger (Albert Camus). The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up, (Marie Kondo) cliche as it sounds, was fairly life-changing.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? The Witch of Blackbird Pond (Elizabeth George Speare)

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016? I don’t have the book anymore to reproduce it for you, but it’s Chapter 2 of Ray Bradbury’s The Halloween Tree. He describes one of the characters, Pipkin, and it’s the best description of a character I’ve ever read.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016? Longest – The Diviners by Libba Bray (578 pages); Shortest – Heart Dog by Roxanne Hawn (69 pages)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most? Oh I don’t know. How about Lolita.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)? (OTP = one true pairing.) Darcy and Nick from Heather Blake’s Wishcraft Mystery series.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year? Minnie and Eddie from Laurie Cass’s Bookmobile Cat series.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously? Modern Lovers by Emma Straub

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure? Holly Madison’s Down the Rabbit Hole. It was a book club pick and I actually really enjoyed it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016? Not a crush, but I kinda liked Gansey from Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys.

23. Best 2016 debut you read? Hey, I actually read a debut book this year!!! Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? Grasshopper Jungle (Andrew Smith)

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read? The Unexpected Everything (Morgan Matson)

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016? It’s always ones with animals. A Mango Shaped Space by Wendy Maas, and others I’m sure.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year? This one is a tossup between White Oleander and City of Women, though neither should be considered hidden gems. The rest of the world loved them as well, it just took me this long to get to them.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul? Oh man. Salvage the Bones (Jesamyn Ward) absolutely wrecked me. WRECKED ME. It’s a gorgeous book, though.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016? Without a doubt, Carol McKibben’s Snow Blood. And parts 2 and 3.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad? Who’s That Girl (Mhairi McFarlane) simply for the ending.

There are two more sections to the survey – one about my bookish blogging life and one about looking ahead. I decided to skip both those sections again. My goal for 2017 is to knock out some of the books that I’ve been wanting to read for a while, including some heftier ones like Gone with the Wind. We’ll see if that happens!

Leave a Reply

